Back to work

Written on Saturday in a break from the digging…

As I type this I’m sitting on my allotment, a thermos of tea next to me, a cold late winter breeze leaving a chill in the air, enjoying the sun when it breaks from behind the clouds. I’ve got mud on my trousers, in my shoes, and under my finger nails.

IMG_20160227_170819

For my first 20 minutes here I couldn’t remember the number for the shed padlock. I had to phone C and wake him up to ask what it was. I spent those 20 minutes wondering how this plot will ever look like the ideas I have in my head. But then I finally got in to the shed, got out the tools and started digging.

I’ve lifted the last two rows of potatoes that we thought  we’d lost to blight last year. I don’t know if it’s extremely good luck, or the ridiculously mild winter, but the plants we cut down after just a month of growth have produced a bucket full of potatoes that still seem to be in good condition, though the test will be when we come to eat them. I’m calling that one beginners luck.

IMG_20160227_170620

The wind is picking up and I think my digging enthusiasm is waning  for the day. I’m also running low on tea, and there’s only so long I can sit here and listen to the posh people on a plot near us tell their kids off for treading on the rhubarb, constantly herding them back to their designated hole digging corner.

We have a lot to do before the plot will look anything like the plan that’s in my head, but we’re getting there slowly.  A new shed is the next big job on the list! Still, at least we have a massive sack of shit to keep us going now…

IMG_20160227_162615

 

2 thoughts on “Back to work

Leave a Reply

